Our Glossary for Advertising on Google


Ad Extensions
Ad extensions let you make your PPC ads more useful and relevant to users searching for information on Google. While the standard text ad format can often provide enough information for users to find what they’re looking for, sometimes some extra information helps get the best response.

Ad extensions work with your existing text ads, so there’s no need to change your keywords, bids, or ad text.

Additional information that can increase the likelihood of users clicking your ads. You can include phone numbers, specific site links e.g. contact us or even promotions.

Ad Position
Where your ad appears on a page compared to other paid advertisements. If your ad position is 3, this means it falls 2 below the top spot.

Average Cost-Per-Click (Avg. CPC)
The average amount it cost for someone to click on your ad. Avg. CPC is calculated when you divide the cost of your clicks by how much. For example, the total cost of clicks is £100. And you receive 100 clicks in total. £100/100 = £1 Avg Cost-Per-Click.

Average Daily Spend
How much money you would like to spend, on average, for your ad campaigns each day. For example, you have a monthly budget of £300 to spend on Google Ads. £300 / 30 (30 days for the month on average) = £1 a day.


How much money you are willing to pay for a click on your ad. Also, this is the same as Maximum Cost Per Click. (Max CPC). All keywords are at different prices. Dependant on the nature of the business and other factors. There are online tools that can estimate the low end and top end of what the cost of a click might be. Bidding strategically is important.


A call-to-action is anything that encourages a website visitor to land on your website. A couple of examples of CTAs are “Sign up today and get 10% off” or “Call today for a free consultation”.

Call Extensions
Add your phone number to this extension. Consequently, you can get called directly from your ad.

A set of ads and keywords that collectively share a budget. You can have one or more campaigns running in your account.

This is someone who sees your ad and then clicks on it to land onto your website.

Click-Through Rate (CTR)
This is a percentage of measuring how successful your campaign is. You divide the number of clicks by the number of impressions. For example, your advert is shown to 1000 people. And 10 of them click on your ad. Your CTR is 1%. The average CTR in Adwords is 1.91% for search. CTR has a positive correlation to the keyword and the content of the ad. If your keyword is “handbags” and your advert is describing “football boots”. Your CTR will be really low because there is 0 relevance. The better the relevance the better performance you will have.

This is when you achieve the desired action from your ads. For example, drive purchases. You can see which keywords and ads resulted in purchases. Google tracks users for up to 30 days. Many people return to a site later on to purchase.

Cost-Per-Click (CPC)
How much money you pay search engines (Google) for a single click on your PPC advert.


Destination URL
The URL address where you want your visitors to land on after they have clicked your ad. The specific page you want your traffic to go to.

An electronic device that can show your PPC ad. Desktops/Laptops, Mobile Devices, and Tablets.


Exact Match
Pretty much says it. You sell red dog collars. If someone searches “red dog collars” your ad can be triggered.


This is where you can get specific. You can target specific locations. You live in sunny England and offer a nationwide service then you can target the whole UK. Or if you own a cake shop in Camden, London. You can set a radius of 5km around your shop so people searching for similar things, your ad will only appear in that location.

Google AdWords
The Holy Grail. The online platform and gives you pay-per-click advertising.


Home Page
This is your website’s main page. Remember to use the most relevant landing page on your website. In fact, this might not be your homepage!


A number of people who see your advert. You have triggered an impression as they have seen your advert but haven’t clicked on it.


A singular word or phrase that you select to target which will display your ad. It’s important to get to select the right keywords.


Landing Page
The page in which users go on when they click on your ad. The better your landing page, the better your Quality Score is, which improves your ad quality altogether.


Pay-Per-Click (PPC)
The industry standard for paying for search advertising. If a user clicks on your ad, you pay for that click. Consequently, if no one clicks, you don’t pay for anything. This is why it’s important to get the most relevant users clicking on your campaign to increase the likelihood of conversions and minimise unnecessary clicks!


Results Page
As someone searches something on a search engine, what is displayed is referred to as the results page. It is also called SERPs, Search Engine Results Page.

Return on Investment (ROI)
The ratio of money lost or gained in relation to how much money is invested. If you spend £100 on PPC advertising and tracking that you gained £200 for sales from your adverts your ROI is 100%.


Search Engine
It is a system that is designed for people to search for information on. Google, Bing, Yahoo, Ask Jeeves (back in the day). Ecosia and more are all search engines.

Search Query
This is when a user types something into Google and searches for it. This can be anything. What they search for is the “Search Query”.

For example, you sell hats. You can see which searches people are making that trigger your ad, whether you need to make it a negative or bid more on high searched keywords.


Simply a URL is another name for a website link.
Ex. http://www.express.jellyfish.com)

If you would like find out more. You can read our two blogs about PPC and how to advertise your business in 2020.